biteskrot.blogg.se

How to install linux on a mac with usb on windows
How to install linux on a mac with usb on windows












how to install linux on a mac with usb on windows

I have tried choosing various files to boot from but none of them worked. I have tried: I have read every article I could find and this one was the most detailed but even it didn't tell me this one detail about the proper choice of files for the Boot Selection. I didn't have enough experience to know which file to chose from the USB flash drive LinuxMint installation. The Dell Boot sequence, at least for my 4 year old XPS 13, is more complicated than I have had with other laptops. Any advice you can give (also for when I want to actually do the install in order to replace Dell's Win8.1 OS with the LinuxMint on the internal SSD) will be greatly appreciated. Sorry to make such a long story out of such an easy question. Please tell me which file to chose for the Boot Option. If I chose the linuxmint-19-cinnamon folder I can chose from "casper-rw", "linuxmint-19-cinnamon-64bit-v2.ISO". There are many files in the main multiboot directory (such as syslinux.cfg) and also other folders (menu, ISOS, and linuxmint-19-cinnamon). Clicking on that multiboot directory, I must chose which file to boot from. I open the EFI Boot Selection and the USB drive lists "multiboot" which is what YUMI created. Then I must give the file name for the boot. Under this option I first give my option the name "USB Drive".

how to install linux on a mac with usb on windows

Finally I went to the Boot Sequence (which now has only "Windows Boot Manager" and the "UEFI: Samsung SSD") and am trying to "Add Boot Option". Then under System Config I checked that "Enable Boot Support" and "Enable External USB Port" were both checked. Next I made sure that "Secure Boot" was Disabled. There I have made sure that POST Fastboot is set to "Thorough". In order to set the boot sequence, I press F2 during the startup and get into the BIOS setup. The computer is a Dell (I think this was the first XPS 13, about 4 years old). I want to boot from the USB to try it live before installing it on my old computer.

#How to install linux on a mac with usb on windows iso#

I have a San Disk 16GB USB flash drive which I have installed a Mint ISO using YUMI. Making the correct file choice in EFI Boot Selection?














How to install linux on a mac with usb on windows